Uncategorized

Flashback Friday (April 28)

friday.PNG

Flashback Friday is hosted by Leah!

Flashback Friday’s aim is to put a spotlight on books we used to love that aren’t getting as much attention as they deserve. In the book community, we put a lot of stock in the newest releases so it’s good to step back occasionally and remember books/series/authors that sparked our love of reading!

This week, I want to flashback to the first Queer book I ever found in my local bookstore: HOW I PAID FOR COLLEGE: A NOVEL OF SEX, THEFT, FRIENDSHIP, & MUSICAL THEATER by Marc Acito. I was probably 17/18 at the time and just starting to come to terms with my own Queerness. I remember browsing the local bookstore with a friend and coming across this book with its blaring orange cover and just being drawn to it. I read the synopsis and knew this book was for me.

I haven’t read the book in several years, so I can’t promise that there isn’t problematic themes in it. I do remember it features a hugely diverse cast: a jock, a bisexual girl, a Persian lesbian, a fat bisexual boy, a fat girl with supreme self-confidence, and their nerdy friend who wants to own a politician. It’s a perfect summer read full of friendship, sex, money laundering, and getting even with people who have wronged you. It’s the perfect book for anyone who has ever wanted to get back at their parents- Edward definitely has the last word in this one with his father.

This book also contained my first glimpse into a poly relationship. While I do remember the relationship didn’t start the best way, it was the first time I’d ever seen it on page.

On top of that, there are strong friendships, musical theater, teenagers dressing like nuns to get beer, and general shenanigans that satisfied an entire summer for me.

Have you ever read this book? Let me know in the comments!

Leave a Reply

