Monthly Wrap-Up

April Wrap-Up!

april

April was a great reading month when it came to numbers- I read 21 books! However, I only read a few that were actually really good. I read 9 books that were a part of a project that looked at the “romance” section of Kindle Unlimited to see continuous themes in these stories. (Hint: there’s a lot of physical and mental abuse that is passed off as romance).

Here’s my April wrap-up:

5s

THE JUMBIES by Tracey Baptiste. I featured this middle grade book on my first ever Middle Grade Monday which you can find here.

DUMPLIN’ by Julie Murphy. As I stated on my goodreads review that this was probably more of 3/3.5 star book, but I was giving it a little extra bump since some people rated it low just because Willowdean is fat. I loved Bo, I loved Mitch… but in all honesty, she probably should have chosen Mitch. I’m just saying.

4s

THE AGONY OF BUN O’KEEFE by Heather Smith. This was 1 of 5 eARCS I worked through this month. Review can be found here.

HAVEN by Rebekah Weatherspoon. Another eARC I finished. This book is deliciously sinful. Review here.

3s

WELCOME HOME by Eric Smith. I reviewed this anthology here.

I also gave three stars to WAIT TILL HELEN COMES, DEEP DARK AND DANGEROUS, and TOOK: A GHOST STORY all by Mary Downing Hahn. These are creepy little middle grade stories and while they aren’t the best written, they are entertaining… and a little spooky.

2s

No 2 star reviews this month.

1s

(These were all stories I read for my project. All contain abuse and very little actual consent. I do not recommend reading these at all.)

CUFFED- Joanna Blake
SANCTUM- Sienna Valentie
KINGS OF ASPHALT- Alexx Andria
STITCH- L. Wilder
KELLAN- Sienna Valentine
BOSS’S ORDERS- Jane Price
UNDER INVESTIGATION- Shannon Meier
OVERHAUL- Amber Burns
THE RELUCTANT RANCHER- Patricia Maser
ONE BAD HUBBY- Ava May
RIDING THE RANCHER- Veronica Sexton

dnf

I ended up DNFING to eARCS this month. They were: DONE DIRT CHEAP by Sarah Nicole Lemon and GET IT TOGETHER, DELILAH by Erin Gough. My double review can be found here.

 

Read any good books in April? Or maybe some that felt like a waste of time?

Leave a Reply

