Diversity Spotlight

Diversity Spotlight Thursday (May 4)

ThursdayDiversity Spotlight Thursday is hosted by Aimal!

If you follow me on twitter, you know diverse books and authors are a subject close to my heart. I hope to always, always put diverse book and authors at the forefront of everything I do, but I also wanted to have a specific day to talk JUST about diverse books as I do sometimes read and blog about white/ciscentric books.

1

TWIXT by Sarah Diemer. I first discovered Diemer through her book THE DARK WIFE. After I finished that book, TWIXT was recommended to me by a friend. It is a tense, dark book and features one of the only plot twists that has truly ever left me breathless. I was rooting for Charlie and Lottie the whole time. This book, like THE DARK WIFE, is a story wrapped around f/f romance.

2

BAYOU MAGIC by Jewell Parker Rhodes is a middle grade featuring folklore, mermaids, and the Deep South. Set in the middle of the Gulf oil spill, this book follows Maddy as she has her first bayou summer with her grandmother. I received this book in a care package back in March and I’m hoping to do a buddy-read of it with my oldest godson sometime this summer.

3

TASH HEARTS TOLSTOY by Kathryn Ormsbee. After a shout-out from one of the Internet’s superstar vloggers, Natasha “Tash” Zelenka finds herself and her obscure, amateur web series, Unhappy Families, thrust into the limelight: She’s gone viral. Her show is a modern adaptation of Anna Karenina—written by Tash’s literary love Count Lev Nikolayevich “Leo” Tolstoy. Tash is a fan of the forty thousand new subscribers, their gushing tweets, and flashy Tumblr GIFs. Not so much the pressure to deliver the best web series ever. And when Unhappy Families is nominated for a Golden Tuba award, Tash’s cyber-flirtation with Thom Causer, a fellow award nominee, suddenly has the potential to become something IRL—if she can figure out how to tell said crush that she’s romantic asexual. Tash wants to enjoy her newfound fame, but will she lose her friends in her rise to the top? What would Tolstoy do? I AM SO EXCITED FOR THIS BOOK!!

Have you read any of these books?

2 thoughts on “Diversity Spotlight Thursday (May 4)

Leave a Reply

