Forever Friday

Forever Friday (May 3)

CaptureForever Friday is an original book meme where I’ll be highlighting books I’m pretty positive I’ll love forever.

9200000024982380My first featured book is SAVANNAH BLUES (Weezie and Bebe Mysteries #1) by Mary Kay Andrews. I want to say my first time reading this book was back in 2012 or 2013 when I was reading more adult mystery and contemporary books. I found my original copy of this book at a Friends of the Library book sale ($.50 for a hardback!) and I immediately fell in love with it. Not only is the book set in Savannah, Georgia, (y’all know I love anything set in the South) but the main character of the book’s name is Weezie!

SAVANNAH BLUES follows 30-something year old Weezie Foley, a feisty antiques and junk picker from Savannah, Georgia. She’s working hard to navigate life after her divorce from her husband Cal, that snake in the grass who was cheating on her with someone much younger. Weezie isn’t complaining too much, though. She’s enjoying her life with her mutt of a pup, her old pickup truck, and her best friend, Bebe. When Bebe’s new chef turns out to be Weezie’s old flame, the already scorching Savannah summer heats up just a notch more. Throw in a murder and some forged antiques… Weezie’s got a busy summer to get through.

I loved everything about this book. I come from a long line of junkers and there’s nothing I like more than a good story about junking. This book launched by obsession with jadeite coffee cups.

I also LOVED Weezie and Bebe’s friendship. It reminds me so much of my own friendship with my best friend, Shay- lots of laughs, lots of comforting, and lots of talking smack about people we don’t like. This friendship lasts the entirety of the series (which is 4 books) and they never once have a fight. Only a true friend is willing to dress all in black and go sneaking around an abandoned building at night to prove your innocence.

Weezie and Daniel (the hot old flame chef) do have a pretty chaotic relationship in the first book. There’s definitely a lot of tension on both sides but there are no TWs to go with it. Daniel is a severely private person and it takes him some time to get used to Weezie’s openness (and her nosiness). In the other 3 books, their relationship is definitely more stable and you get to see Daniel’s character grow and open.

This book is FULL of sweet revenger, sweet Southern belles who will slit your throat, and lots of antiques. It’s a book I can’t wait to read again and again.

2 thoughts on “Forever Friday (May 3)

Leave a Reply

