Reviews

Review: THE END OF OZ

Capture

Book: THE END OF OZ
Author: Danielle Paige
Series: Dorothy Must Die- Book 4
Rating: (a timid) 3/5 stars
TWs: Light gore, blood mentions, slavery, death.

Chasity: I know you can be overwhelmed and you can be underwhelmed… but can you ever just be whelmed?

Bianca: I think you can in Europe.

From: 10 Things I Hate About You

I must be in Europe.

CaptureTHE END OF OZ picks up right where YELLOW BRICK WAR left off. We find Amy, Nox, and Madison flying on the Yellow Brick Road to… somewhere. When the road dumps them in the land of Ev, Amy has to forge new alliances, navigate her strained relationship with Madison, and maybe, finally, kill Dorothy.

I loved the first and second book of this series, was a little underwhelmed by the third, and had high hopes for the fourth. It’s not that it’s a terrible book, I just think I expected more out of it than was actually delivered. Danielle Paige is a beautiful, sweet person but it felt like she was little bored of her own story by the end of this book.

That’s not to say I didn’t enjoy the book. Amy is one of my favorite book heroines. I love the fact that Paige talks about poverty and addiction in her books and how it impacted Amy’s life and the way she views things even in Oz. I was also pleasantly surprised that Amy and Madison have an actual conversation about why Madison was so awful to Amy- and that Amy didn’t let Madison weasel out of not explaining herself.

I enjoyed the progression of Amy and Nox’s relationship. It was 3 books coming and I loved seeing their ending.

But the book ending? Woo, boy. While I can appreciate the ending with Dorothy, the rest of it felt like a cheap copout. And I have so many unanswered questions. Which makes me wonder… is this really the end of Oz? Paige definitely left the door wide open for another book but I’m not sure my love for Oz could survive another one.

Again, it’s not a terrible book. Just go in expecting some fairly good scenes with a lot of ‘eh’ in between.

 

One thought on “Review: THE END OF OZ

Leave a Reply

