Forever Friday

Forever Friday (May 19)

CaptureForever Friday is an original weekly meme where I showcase a book I’m going to love forever.

CaptureMy mom read of ANNE OF GREEN GABLES by L.M. Montgomery to me when I was a kid and even though I didn’t 100% understand everything that was happening in the story, I did know that I loved Anne.

Years later, I still love the red head with the big vocabulary and bigger imagination. I’ve since read the entire series and while I love all of those books, I keep coming back to the first one. There’s nothing like the magic of rediscovering a book that changed your life.

I was a timid kid. I had a plethora of cousins that I was comfortable with but I was never able to really express myself around people I didn’t know. You know those kids who never meet a stranger? Yeah, I definitely was not one of them. I was painfully shy and fearful of everyone… which would later be diagnosed as anxiety. Anne was everything I wanted to be, though. She was loud, unafraid to take up space, and when she wanted or needed a friend, she wasn’t afraid to make one.

I also identified with Anne because like her, I spent the majority of my childhood living inside my head. Sure, I went places with my cousins and rode bikes with the neighborhood kids but I was never fully present in those moments. Like Anne, every road was a new landscape… mostly imagined. I created spaces and places and I lived more there than here, something that made me a ‘dreamy’ child. Anne was the first character who talked openly about her daydreams and I believe that’s why I connected so deeply with her on out first meet.

Of course, Anne is not the only great thing about this series. Gilbert Blythe was my first real book crush, I desperately wanted an uncle like Matthew, and I fell in love with Marilla the same way Anne did- slowly but surely.

At this point, I can’t tell you how many copies of ANNE OF GREEN GABLES I own. I love collecting the different covers and the storybooks.

While the language is outdated and society has moved on, Anne is still a classic to me.

3 thoughts on “Forever Friday (May 19)

Leave a Reply

