Reviews

Mini Review: Shadow and Bone

Capture

Book: SHADOW AND BONE
Author: Leigh Bardugo
Rating: 5/5
TWs: Blood, gore, abuse
Series: The Grisha (Book 1)

CaptureI have had the Grisha series sitting on my TBR shelf since August of last year. I had initially purchased it for YallFest, ended up leaving early, and never got around to actually reading it because everyone kept telling me that it wasn’t as good as SIX OF CROWS/CROOKED KINGDOM.

They’re not wrong. There a magic in SoC/CK that the Grisha series doesn’t have but I still LOVE this series so far.

Book one introduces us to Alina, our main heroine, who is likeable but forgettable. Seriously, she’s kind of like every other white YA heroine. Skinny, clumsy, but full of untapped potential. Then there’s Mal (who I hate… with a fiery passion), her playboy best friend.

And then the Darkling. My beautiful, beautiful Darkling. Yes, he’s evil. Yes, he has terrible morals. Yes, he is stylishly handsome.

While this is definitely not as good as SoC/CK… it’s still good. I haven’t been this excited for a series in  along time.

2 thoughts on “Mini Review: Shadow and Bone

  1. I’ve heard mixed reviews about this book, but I might try it. I love how you describe Darkling. Having not read the books, I have no idea who he is, but I like how you state the facts at the same time as admitting your affection for the character.

    Like

Leave a Reply

