Reviews

Mini Review: SIEGE AND STORM

 

Capture

Book: RUIN & RISING
Author: Leigh Bardugo
Rating: 3.5/5
TWs: Blood, death
Series: The Grisha (Book 2)

CaptureSIEGE AND STORM by Leigh Bardugo is the second book in the Grisha series. It picks up a few weeks after SHADOW AND BONE with Alina and Mal trying to live a normal life in Cofton. But Alina is the Sun Summoner and life can never just be simple.

I definitely didn’t favor this book as much as I did the first one and the reason why is pretty simple- Mal. I have never encountered such a whiney, entitled character and I can’t help but hope he dies in the third book just so I don’t have to deal with him anymore. I hated the way he constantly spoke over Alina, his jealousy, and the fact that he obviously cares more for the girl he wants Alina to be more than the actual Alina.

This book does, however, give you the wonderous beauty that is Nikolai Lanstov. (Just imagine me sighing dreamily any time he is mentioned). Yes, the wayward Prince finally makes his debut in this book and it is glorious.

If you’re a fan of the Darkling (like me), he’s still around! Still as handsome and evil as ever.

I’m hoping the third book changes my feelings on Alina. I’ve never felt so ‘meh’ about a heroine before and it’s kind of freaking me out.

 

One thought on “Mini Review: SIEGE AND STORM

Leave a Reply

