TBR Beatdown

The TBR Beatdown: June

Capture
Let’s get down to business… to defeat… my crippling TBR shelf

I didn’t mean to let things get this bad, honestly.

When I first joined the book community, I had a decently sized TBR shelf that usually kept around 15-20 books waiting for me to read. But there is something so addicting about watching massive book hauls and soon enough I was collecting a massive amount of books. Library sale? I was there. Bookoutlet sale? Oh yeah. Amazon? HAVE YOU SEEN THEIR PRICES?? Then there was that awful time where I worked at Books-A-Million… just for the discount. (I’m not joking… I worked part time for a book discount, I have a problem, ok?) Then I discovered my local used bookstore and things got a little worse. Now, they’re opening a 2nd and Charles near me.

I have no more room for books. They are everywhere. In my living room, in my closet. I’ve been trying to prune back books that I’ve read and will never read again but the real problem is my TBR. It’s out of control. It’s 247 books that haven’t been touched since the day I bought them and it’s time to clean it up a little.

So here’s where The TBR Beatdown comes in. Every month, I’m going to pull four book off my TBR shelf. If I don’t read them by the end of the month, they’ve got to go. If I read them and like them, they can stay. If I read them and feel ‘meh’ about them, they go in the donate pile. I’m not trying to empty my TBR (like that would ever happen), I just need it to be less overwhelming.

I’m truly hoping this will make me slow down and consider the books I’m buying carefully. Some of these books have been with me for years. I’m talking I’ve moved them from home to college to home to home to home. It’s time to either read them or give them the boot.

So last night I hit up a random number generator and it picked numbers 67, 83, 166, and 173.

IMG_172067. PRIDE AND PRESCIENCE by Carrie Bebris. I picked this one up at the library book sale! It’s set up to be very “cozy mystery-esque” and I hope it lives up to all the hype I’ve heard!

Pride and Prescience (Or, A Truth Universally Acknowledged), a Mr. and Mrs. Darcy Mystery, embroils the joyous newlyweds Elizabeth and Fitzwilliam Darcy in a mystery involving one of their wedding guests.
The lovely Caroline Bingley is engaged to marry a rich and charismatic American. Unfortunately, this windswept courtship is marred by many strange events– nocturnal wanderings, spooked horses, carriage accidents, and even an apparent suicide attempt. Soon the whole Bingley family seems the target of a mysterious plot, with only the Darcys recognizing the danger

Sinister forces are afoot and the Darcys must get to the bottom of the plot before the blushing bride descends into madness–or worse.

IMG_171983. SPLINTERED by A.G. Howard was a book I received for Christmas… in 2015. I’m not sure why I haven’t gotten to it yet since I love all things Alice in Wonderland.
Alyssa Gardner hears the whispers of bugs and flowers—precisely the affliction that landed her mother in a mental hospital years before. This family curse stretches back to her ancestor Alice Liddell, the real-life inspiration for Lewis Carroll’s Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland. Alyssa might be crazy, but she manages to keep it together. For now.

When her mother’s mental health takes a turn for the worse, Alyssa learns that what she thought was fiction is based in terrifying reality. The real Wonderland is a place far darker and more twisted than Lewis Carroll ever let on. There, Alyssa must pass a series of tests, including draining an ocean of Alice’s tears, waking the slumbering tea party, and subduing a vicious bandersnatch, to fix Alice’s mistakes and save her family. She must also decide whom to trust: Jeb, her gorgeous best friend and secret crush, or the sexy but suspicious Morpheus, her guide through Wonderland, who may have dark motives of his own.

IMG_1718
166. THE YEAR OF SHADOWS by Claire Legrand. I actually don’t know how long I’ve had this book. It came from Thriftbooks so I’m guessing it came in mid-2016 when I did my giant Thriftbooks haul.
Olivia Stellatella is having a rough year.

Her mother’s left, her neglectful father—the maestro of a failing orchestra—has moved her and her grandmother into the city’s dark, broken-down concert hall to save money, and her only friend is Igor, an ornery stray cat.

Just when she thinks life couldn’t get any weirder, she meets four ghosts who haunt the hall. They need Olivia’s help—if the hall is torn down, they’ll be stuck as ghosts forever, never able to move on.

Olivia has to do the impossible for her shadowy new friends: Save the concert hall. But helping the dead has powerful consequences for the living…and soon it’s not just the concert hall that needs saving.  

IMG_1717
173. WILD BOY AND THE BLACK TERROR by Rob Lloyd Jones actually hasn’t been on my that long. I think I actually just purchased this one in March… but it’s number came up, so here we are. I absolutely loved WILD BOY and I can’t imagine I’ll feel any different about this one.
London, 1842. Wild Boy, master detective and former freak-show performer, and Clarissa, circus acrobat and troublemaker, are the secret last hope of a city beset by horror. A poisoner stalks the streets, leaving victims mad with terror?—?and then dead. Can the Black Terror be traced to a demon called Malphas? With their partnership threatened by rules and regulations, can Wild Boy and Clarissa uncover a cure in time to save the queen and the city?
And those are my TBR Beatdown picks for June! Wish me luck!

2 thoughts on “The TBR Beatdown: June

Leave a Reply

