Monthly Wrap-Up

May 2017 Wrap-Up

Capture

May was not my best month for reading in terms of number of books I read. It was, however, a good rating month. Out of seven books, only one of them received less than a 3 star rating. That’s really awesome when I think about how many books I read in April that received 1 and 2 star reviews.

5s

CaptureThis month I FINALLY started and finished the Grisha Series. SHADOW AND BONE by Leigh Bardugo was the only one in the series that received a full 5 stars and that’s mostly because I was instantly enamored with The Darkling, evil as he may have been.

You can check out my mini-review for SHADOW AND BONE here.

 

 

 

29283884My awesome friend Mason loaned me their ARC of THE GENTLEMAN’S GUIDE TO VICE AND VIRTUE by Mackenzi Lee and this will easily be in my top 10 reads of 2017. I generally don’t read historical YA but not only is this book immensely entertaining, it’s also incredibly Queer and features a biracial love interest.

It also has asexuality representation and the LI is epileptic, something I was first concerned about in terms of how the author would handle it but I shouldn’t have worried. Lee does a fantastic job with both.

 

 

4s

 

CaptureSIEGE AND STORM by Leigh Bardugo is the second book in the Grisha series. This definitely had some “middle book syndrome” elements but that doesn’t slow the pace down at all.

Plus, Nikolai Lantsov will steal your heart.

You can check out my mini review here.

 

 

 

14061957RUIN AND RISING by Leigh Bardugo is the third and last book in the Grisha series. I was worried that I wouldn’t like it as much as the first two (last books sometimes fall flat) but Bardugo did an amazing job wrapping up the series… even if I didn’t agree with the ending.

You can check out my mini review here.

 

 

 

 

3s

 

CaptureI had originally heard that THE END OF OZ by Danielle Paige was supposed to be the, well, end of Oz. But with such a wide open ending, I’m not sure how Paige couldn’t write another book.

My review can be found here.

 

 

 

 

21793182STARFLIGHT by Melissa Landers was actually a 2.5 star book. I read this for book club and while I didn’t absolutely hate it, it did have a ton of troubling themes.

You can check my review out here.

 

 

 

 

 

2s

 

30971734I received an ARC of WITCHTOWN by Cory Putman Oakes through NetGalley. While I had super high hopes for this one (I do love a good witch story), this one fell flat about 20% in and it was a struggle to finish it.

 

My review can be found here.

 

 

 

And that’s it for May! Did you read any good books this month?

3 thoughts on “May 2017 Wrap-Up

  1. Wow! You managed to write reviews to all the books you read. The Gentleman’s Guide… is growing on me, I judged it by the cover at the beginning and thought it wouldn’t be my cup of tea.

    I read so many good books this month. Heroine Worship, No More Heroes and Jamila to name a few.

    Like

  2. I’m glad to see that you enjoyed the Shadow and Bone trilogy. And the Darkling was my favourite characters as well, no matter how evil he may be! Many people didn’t agree with the ending of Ruin and Rising, and yes I’m one of those as well.
    I already wanted to read The Gentlemen’s Guide to Vice and Virtue, but now seeing that it has asexual representation I NEED to read it as soon as possible! I’m actually asexual and haven’t read many/any books that represent it, which I definitely need to change.
    Great wrap up! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

