Monthly Wrap-Up

June 2017 Wrap Up

Capture

Hello July, Good-bye June!

June was a pretty good reading month for me which was something I honestly didn’t expect. I’m usually pretty slammed during June but due to some personal issues, I opted out of my local Pride stuff which freed up a lot of time. I still didn’t do as much reading as I did in the past months because I started working on my latest WIP, Montana Skies.

Having said that, I read SO many good books this month! Let’s get started with this wrap-up.

5s

32179015

 

I kicked off June with ZINNIA AND THE BEES by Danielle Davis. The book follows Zinnia as she navigates her jumbled life and the bees who suddenly think her hair is their hive.

You can read my full review here!

 

 

 

30653853

 

This was my third time reading THE UPSIDE OF UNREQUITED by Becky Albertalli… and I still love it just as much! UPSIDE is about Molly, her unrequited (and maybe requited crushes), and the cruel pains of growing up.

You can read my full review here!

 

 

 

22926571

 

WILD BOY AND THE BLACK TERROR by Rob Lloyd Jones is the sequel to one of my favorite MG books. This one picks up where WILD BOY left off only this time, Wild Boy has to solve a mystery AND decide what’s important to him.

You can read my full review here!

 

 

 

 

13129136

 

This was part of my TBR Beatdown for June. THE YEAR OF SHADOWS by Claire Legrand is a middle grade about poverty, loss, and letting go.

You can read my full review here!

 

 

 

 

28220826

 

I am still not over WHEN THE MOON WAS OURS by Anna-Marie McLemore. And I don’t know which I love more… the impressive characters or the magical setting.

You can read my full review here!

 

 

 

 

 

28458598

 

WHEN DIMPLE MET RISHI by Sandhya Menon is the absolute most feel-good book I’ve read this entire year. I adore Rishi and I LOVE Dimple!

You can read my full review here!

 

 

 

 

4s

 

31742552

 

REZ REBEL by Melanie Florence was a hard but super important read on the suicide epidemic Native/First Nations/Indigenous communities are facing.

You can read my full review here!

 

 

 

 

1s

33966845

 

I was SO disappointed by GRRRLS ON THE SIDE by Carrie Pack. I was expecting girl power and got splashed in the face by white feminism.

You can read my full review here!

 

 

 

 

 

6954141

I had more fun making fun of HOUSE OF DARK SHADOWS by Robert Liparulo than actually reading it.

While I don’t have a review, I do have a twitter thread that chronicled my glee and horror.

 

 

 

 

dnf

 

-BEING A WITCH AND OTHER THINGS I DIDN’T ASK FOR by Sara Pascoe. After reading the phrases “war paint” (referring to make-up, nope) and “a bad case of schizophrenia”, I DNFed this one real quick.

– MY FAIRY GODMOTHER IS A DRAG QUEEN by David Clawson. I’m just going to point you to some excellent reviews here, here, and here.

– THE GALLERY OF UNFINISHED GIRLS by Lauren Karcz. I don’t think this a bad book, I just couldn’t get into it.

-GEEK OUT by Cecil Wilde. The stories in this anthology were super graphic and sexual, not something I was expecting from a nerdy romance anthology. Not to mention the fact that the second story has graphic incest between twins. Nope.

3 thoughts on “June 2017 Wrap Up

  1. I’m super impressed that you’ve already read Upside three times, haha. I still need to get to that one. I’m glad to see yet another person who has really enjoyed When the Moon Was Ours, as I just bought it recently and I’m hoping to get to it soon. Geek Out sounded like it’d be good in theory, but why on earth would they include an incest story?! That’s so gross, ugh.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I am obsessed with Becky Albertalli’s books! And slowly becoming the same with Anna-Marie McLemore’s books, too!

      Geek Out was SUCH a disappointment. I think I was expecting more romance and less graphic sex… so that was the first disappointment but then the incest story just made the whole anthology a hard no for me.

      Like

      1. After looking at the blurb for Geek Out, I definitely wouldn’t have expected there to be a lot of graphic sex, so I can totally see where you’re coming from. And then to add incest on top of that? No wonder it was disappointing. I hope your next read(s) will be more satisfying!

        Like

Leave a Reply

