TBR Beatdown

TBR Beatdown: July

Capture

If you missed last month’s TBR Beatdown (and the explanation behind it), you can check it out here!

So how did I do with June’s TBR? Pretty dang good! The books I picked for June were: THE YEAR OF SHADOWS by Claire Legrand, WILD BOY AND THE BLACK TERROR by Rob Lloyd Jones, SPLINTERED by A.G. Howard, and PRIDE AND PRESCIENCE by Carrie Bebris.

I finished THE YEAR OF SHADOWS and WILD BOY. You can find the reviews for both here and here. I gave an honest go of SPLINTERED and just couldn’t get into it. Honestly, I’m getting really tired of the “popular girl is mean” trope so I kind of put-off from the very start. That leaves PRIDE AND PRESCIENCE… which I did not get to. Since I just got that book at a library sale, I don’t feel bad about saving it and putting it back on my TBR shelf. SPLINTERED, however, has hit the donate pile.

Which brings us to my July Beatdown. This month, I didn’t choose random numbers to pick my books, I let my 4 oldest godkids do the honors!

edgeGrant’s pick (age 12): EDGEWATER by Courtney Sheinmel.

Why Grant Picked This Book: “It looks spooky and kind of like Mama Mary’s house.” (My grandmother and it strangely does.)

When I Bought This Book: At least a year ago. I think I might have gotten this in a BookOutlet order… So it might have been 2015.

 

 

 

tatbLulu’s Pick (age 4): TO ALL THE BOYS I’VE LOVED BEFORE by Jenny Han.

Why Lulu Picked This Book: “I like her hair.” (Good enough for me)

When I Bought This Book: I actually didn’t! It was given to me in a box of books in early 2016. I actually took this book with me to YALLFEST 2016 and had Jenny Han sign it!

 

 

wau

Bailey’s Pick (age 7): THE WALLS AROUND US by Nova Ren Suma

Why Bailey Picked This Book: “It has blood on it.” (Me: I think that’s just a red vine.) “No, it’s blood.” (Me: Okie dokie.)

When I Bought This Book: July 2016. I bought it to go to YALLFEST with but… well, no need to hash out how that all went.

 

 

 

mister

Sidda’s Pick (age 10): THE BOOK OF LOST THINGS by Cynthia Voigt.

Why Sidda Picked This Book: “I want to read it.” (Me: Oh… do you want to like take it with you?) “No, I want you to read it first in case it sucks.”

When I Bought This Book: Sometime last year during that hellish month of working at BAM. No discount was worth it.

 

 

And there’s my TBR Beatdown for July!

Any books you’re hoping to kick off your TBR list this month?

5 thoughts on “TBR Beatdown: July

Leave a Reply

