Forever Friday

Forever Friday: The Lion, The Witch, and The Wardrobe.

CaptureForever Friday is an original weekly meme to highlight a book I’ll love forever!

170609

I was in 4th grade when I discovered the magic of Narnia and all it’s inhabitants and the magical wardrobe that took 4 ordinary children there. Mrs. Shelton was my teacher that year and she had an intense love of books that she shared with us every day after lunch when she allowed us to spread out on the floor and listen to her read.

I don’t think I have to explain THE LION, THE WITCH, AND THE WARDROBE by C.S. Lewis to anyone. This book is classic children’s literature and while some protest at the underlying Christian themes, I personally can’t forget how this book made me feel as a kid.

Maybe it was the way Mrs. Shelton read, maybe it was the way Lewis wrote, or maybe it was just the way my mind worked but I always felt like I was slipping into Narnia with Lucy, Susan, Edmund, and Peter… and I never wanted to leave. Yes, the White Witch WAS terrifying, but I also desperately wanted to be friends with Mr. Tumnus and the Beavers and all the other characters that helped our little heroes and heroines on their way.

As my godkids get older, I’ve been able to share Narnia with them and the magic of watching them fall in love with these books and characters feels like discovering the world all over again. It’s amazing that they have the same love for Lucy (and Edmund once I tell them why Edmund did what he did) and the same awe for Aslan as I did as a child… and still do, if I’m honest.

The only other Narnia book I really got into was Prince Caspian. I did read the entire series (and had my heart broke over and over) but THE LION, THE WITCH, AND THE WARDROBE is the only one of the series that felt like it stuck to my ribs.

And I am still looking for my magical wardrobe in the land of Spare-Oom.

One thought on “Forever Friday: The Lion, The Witch, and The Wardrobe.

Leave a Reply

