Wishing and Waiting Wednesday

Wishing and Waiting Wednesday

WWWWishing and Waiting Wednesday is an original weekly post to highlight a book I’ve been wanting to buy and a book I’ve had on my TBR for a little too long!

wishing

 

2954411LIVING DEAD GIRL by Elizabeth Scott has been on my To Buy list for a while. It was recommended to me by a friend when I was still a part of the booklr community and while it sounds intriguing and definitely up my alley in terms of the true crime feel about it, I’m still so, so hesitant to read it because of the heavy topic it handles.

Once upon a time, I was a little girl who disappeared.

Once upon a time, my name was not Alice.

Once upon a time, I didn’t know how lucky I was.

When Alice was ten, Ray took her away from her family, her friends — her life. She learned to give up all power, to endure all pain. She waited for the nightmare to be over.

Now Alice is fifteen and Ray still has her, but he speaks more and more of her death. He does not know it is what she longs for. She does not know he has something more terrifying than death in mind for her.

This is Alice’s story. It is one you have never heard, and one you will never, ever forget.

waiting

 

6387925I bought THE WILD THINGS by Dave Eggers in 2015, started it once but then got distracted by the Percy Jackson series. I’m not sure why I’ve not picked it back up other than I am afraid of being disappointed. This book is loosely based on WHERE THE WILD THINGS ARE by Maurice Sendak which is my absolute favorite children’s book. This has a lowish rating on goodreads but an absolutely STUNNING cover, so hopefully I’ll get to it and want to keep it…

… eventually.

 

 

What are wishing and waiting for this week?

One thought on “Wishing and Waiting Wednesday

Leave a Reply

