Uncategorized

Where Are You Christmas, er, Weezie?

Me: I’m going to start blogging again!

Also me: *silence for two months*

I don’t have any real reasons for my continued pop-ups and disappearances other than… I just wasn’t feeling very bloggy. I felt very overwhelmed by the thought of reading ARCs and reviewing, so I just didn’t. This has been a year of learning to take care of myself and I stopped doing things that made me unhappy, and blogging had become a source of deep unsettling unhappiness for me during this year of change. But I think… I think I might be ready to start blogging again in earnest in 2019. And this time I want to focus on doing things I like and writing reviews how I want I stand of focusing on making massive amounts of content.

So what have I been reading?

HIS GARDEN by Ann K. Howard ⭐️⭐️ I love a good true crime book but this one didn’t hit the spot. The relationship the author developed with Connecticut’s most prolific serial killer was unsettling, especially when the married author readily admitted she asked him if he missed sex and they seemed to exchange sexually charged letters (several of them read like poorly written erotica). I also wasn’t impressed with how she tried to spin him as being a nice, unassuming man with a “problem”. The real deal breaker for me was how she referred to one of his victims, a trans woman, as a man.

SCYTHE by Neal Shusterman ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ This one was recommended to me by a friend on Litsy and I was not disappointed. This book takes place in a world where death, disease, and pain have been conquered and the world’s population is controlled by Scythes- trained killers. I enjoyed the dynamic between the characters, even though the romance was instant and then undeveloped.

THE GUNSLINGER by Stephen King ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ Y’all, I’m finally going to read The Dark Tower series. I started this one and couldn’t put it down. Like a lot of King books, this one contains problematic elements and a lot of death. But I can’t help but love his books. I’m planning to actually read the series and some of the expanded universe in this order (list made by Geekunchained)

What Am I Currently Reading?

THE STAND by Stephen King. I’m only about 100 pages in and have met, like, 9 million characters but I’m digging this one!

What’s Next?

For my December book club, I’ll be reading THE AFTERLIFE OF HOLLY CHASE by Cynthia Hand. I have a few more Christmas reads I hope to get to that I’ll talk about in my next post!

Hey, aren’t you writing a book?

I am! The #WitchyGirlsBook is plodding along. I’m hoping to have the first draft done in the next couple of months, but I’m not holding myself to any deadlines. I’m also working on a lesbian smut collection, but, uh, we’ll talk about that later.

And that’s all there is for this post. Happy reading!

Check me out on:

Twitter: @WeeziesBooks

Litsy: @WeeziesBooks

Goodreads: goodreads.com/bookstorepropaganda

Leave a comment